- Six checking accounts compared
- The three ways to avoid a monthly fee
- A shortcut: Bank On certified accounts
- The fees that cost more than the monthly fee
- What to check before you open an account
- Common mistakes
- How to switch accounts without leaving anything behind
- When paying a fee can be worth it
- How we compared these accounts
- Official sources
Quick answer As of October 12, 2026, Capital One 360 Checking and the Ally Spending Account charge no monthly fee and set no conditions. At the big branch banks, Chase Secure Banking ($4.95), Bank of America Advantage SafeBalance ($4.95) and Wells Fargo Clear Access Banking ($5) drop to $0 if you meet one condition, such as $250 a month in electronic deposits at Chase and Wells Fargo or a $500 minimum daily balance at Bank of America. None of the five charges overdraft fees. If none fits, look for a credit union or a Bank On certified account, and check the costs that outweigh the monthly fee: out-of-network ATMs, cashier’s checks and wires.
A $15 monthly fee, which is what Chase Total Checking charges when you miss its waiver, adds up to $180 a year, and most people who pay it do not have to. This guide explains how those fees work, how to find an account without them and which other charges to check before you switch.

Six checking accounts compared
We read the official page or fee schedule of each account on October 12, 2026. The first two have no monthly fee at all. The next three are the low-cost accounts of three of the largest branch banks. The last one is a standard account, included so you can see what a typical waiver looks like.
| Account | Monthly fee | How to pay $0 | To open | Overdraft fees | Good to know |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capital One 360 Checking | $0 | No conditions | No minimum. The application asks for an SSN or ITIN | None | 70,000+ fee-free ATMs. Cash can be added at participating stores |
| Ally Spending Account | $0 | No conditions | No minimum deposit. The application asks for a Social Security number | None | No branches. Cash goes in only at Walmart through the app. Up to $10 per statement cycle refunded for other banks’ ATM fees |
| Chase Secure Banking | $4.95 | $250 or more in qualifying electronic deposits each statement period, or an account owner aged 17 to 24 | No minimum deposit | None | Direct deposits can arrive up to two business days early |
| Bank of America Advantage SafeBalance | $4.95 | A minimum daily balance of $500, or an account owner under 25 | $25 | No overdraft item fees | No paper checks. Cashier’s checks cost $15 each |
| Wells Fargo Clear Access Banking | $5 | $250 or more in qualifying electronic deposits each fee period, or a primary owner aged 13 to 24 | Not stated on the pages we checked | None | Bank On certified. $3 at other banks’ ATMs in the US. Cashier’s checks $10, money orders $5 |
| Chase Total Checking | $15 | $500 or more in qualifying electronic deposits, or $1,500 at the start of each day, or a $5,000 average balance across this and linked qualifying accounts | Not stated on the page we checked | Can apply. See Chase’s overdraft terms | The standard account, shown for comparison: the same bank’s Secure Banking is cheaper to keep at $0 |
How to read it. The two accounts at $0 are online banks: there is no branch, so think about how you would deposit cash. The three accounts around $5 are built for people starting out: none charges overdraft fees, and Bank of America’s cannot be used with paper checks. Only Capital One’s page says in writing that it takes an ITIN. For the others, ask before you apply and bring the right papers: see which banks accept the ITIN and the documents you need to open an account.
The three ways to avoid a monthly fee
1. Accounts that simply do not have one
This is the cleanest option: no conditions to meet and no balances to watch. You will find them mostly at credit unions, online banks and neobanks.
2. Accounts with a fee that is waived if you meet a requirement
This is the usual model at traditional banks. The fee exists, but it disappears if you meet one of these conditions, which vary by institution:
- Receiving a direct deposit each month, sometimes above a minimum amount.
- Keeping a minimum daily balance or an average monthly balance.
- Making a minimum number of debit card purchases.
- Holding a linked savings account or loan at the same institution.
- Being a student, or under or over a certain age.
Read the wording: a “minimum daily balance” is not the same as an “average monthly balance”. Under the first, a single day below the threshold triggers the fee for the whole month.
3. Asking the bank to remove it
Few people try it. Call customer service and ask to be switched to a no-fee account. If they say no, ask which account at that same institution has no monthly fee, so you can compare it with what other banks offer.
A shortcut: Bank On certified accounts
Bank On is a national program run by the nonprofit Cities for Financial Empowerment Fund. It certifies checking accounts from banks and credit unions that meet a public set of standards. For 2025–2026, the core requirements are:
| Feature | What the standards require |
|---|---|
| Minimum opening deposit | $25 or less |
| Monthly maintenance fee | $5 or less if it cannot be waived; $10 or less if it can, with at least two ways to waive it with a single transaction |
| Overdraft and insufficient-funds fees | None |
| Activation, closure, dormancy, inactivity and low-balance fees | None |
| ATM access | Free in network; $2.50 or less out of network |
| Debit card and direct deposit | Free |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC, NCUSIF or equivalent |
Two things to keep in mind. “Certified” does not always mean $0: the account can cost up to $5 a month, so read its fee schedule. And accepting an ITIN or a consular ID as primary identification is a recommended feature, not a required one, so ask before you go. Our guide to banks that accept the ITIN covers that step.
You can search certified accounts by state on the Bank On website, which listed more than 500 of them when we checked in October 2026.
The fees that cost more than the monthly fee
Overdraft
This is the expensive one. The CFPB notes that many banks and credit unions charge $30 or more per overdraft, although a number of institutions have lowered or dropped the fee in recent years.
The rule to know: a bank cannot charge you an overdraft fee on ATM withdrawals and one-time debit card purchases unless you have opted in. If you have not, those transactions are simply declined, at no cost, and you can change your choice at any time. The protection does not reach everything: checks and automatic payments can still overdraw the account and carry a fee. We explain the options in how to avoid overdraft fees.
Out-of-network ATMs
A withdrawal at another institution’s ATM can be charged twice: once by the ATM owner and once by your own bank. Use your app’s ATM locator before you withdraw.
Returned payments and wire transfers
Some banks charge a returned-item fee even though the payment never went through. Wire transfers, especially international ones, also carry a fee at many institutions.
What to check before you open an account
Ask for the fee schedule and look for these six points:
- The monthly fee and, if there is one, the exact way to have it waived.
- The minimum opening deposit and any minimum balance.
- The overdraft fee and whether you can decline the coverage.
- The size of the bank’s ATM network and the cost of using other ATMs.
- Fees for transfers and for cashier’s checks.
- The cost of paper statements, which some banks charge if you do not choose electronic ones.
Check too that your deposits are insured: by the FDIC at banks and by the NCUA at federally insured credit unions, up to $250,000 per depositor.
Common mistakes
- Looking only at the sign-up bonus. A $200 bonus is used up by a $12 monthly fee in about a year and a half.
- Meeting the requirement by a hair. If the waiver needs a $1,000 minimum daily balance and you move between $900 and $1,100, you will pay the fee in more months than you expect.
- Not reading the statement. Fees are listed there. Five minutes a month is enough to catch them.
- Leaving an old account open. It can keep charging its fee even if you never use it.
How to switch accounts without leaving anything behind
- Open the new account before touching the old one, and confirm that online access works and the card arrives.
- List everything that comes in and goes out. Go through three months of statements: paycheck, rent, insurance, subscriptions, recurring money transfers.
- Move what comes in first. Redirect your direct deposit and wait until the first payment lands in the new account.
- Then move what goes out, one automatic payment at a time, starting with the most important.
- Keep the old account open with a cushion for two months, in case you forgot a bill.
- Close it formally and in writing, and keep the confirmation. Not using an account is not the same as closing it.
When paying a fee can be worth it
A no-fee account is not always the better choice. Two cases where paying can make sense:
- You handle cash often. An account with a nearby branch where you can deposit cash for free can beat a digital account that charges for each cash deposit at a store.
- You need cashier’s checks or money orders regularly, for example to pay rent. Some accounts include them and others charge for each one.
In both cases, do the math with your own numbers. And if you do not have an account yet, see how to cash a check with no bank account in the meantime.
How we compared these accounts
- Which accounts. The low-cost checking account of three of the largest US branch banks, one standard account for contrast, and two accounts from online banks that charge no monthly fee. It is not a ranking and it is not every account on the market.
- What we looked at. The monthly fee, every way to waive it, the opening deposit, overdraft fees, who can open the account and the limits that change how you use it, such as no paper checks or no cash deposits.
- Where the figures come from. Only each bank’s own product page, fee schedule or disclosure, read on October 12, 2026. Where the page did not state something, the table says so instead of guessing.
- What we did not check. Fees can vary by state, and banks approve or decline each application on their own criteria. We did not open the accounts.
- No payment involved. None of these banks pays us, and there are no affiliate links in this guide.
Related articles
Official sources
To check what this guide explains, these are the references we used. If a rule changes, the official version always prevails.
- Capital One: 360 Checking: no monthly fee, no minimum, no overdraft fees, SSN or ITIN on the application.
- Ally Bank: Spending Account: fees, ATM refunds and cash deposits, marked correct as of October 8, 2026.
- Chase: Secure Banking and Total Checking: monthly service fees and how to avoid them.
- Bank of America: Advantage Banking Clarity Statements: SafeBalance fee, waivers, opening deposit and other fees.
- Wells Fargo: Clear Access Banking fees: fee summary effective July 28, 2026, and the ways to avoid the monthly fee.
- CFPB: bank accounts and services: choosing an account, fees and your overdraft options.
- FDIC: deposit insurance: what is insured and up to what amount.
- MyCreditUnion.gov (NCUA): how credit unions work and how their deposits are insured.
- Bank On: certified accounts: search tool and the 2025–2026 national account standards. Bank On is a nonprofit program, not a government agency.
Reviewed on October 12, 2026 against each bank’s own pages, the CFPB, the FDIC and the Bank On National Account Standards for 2025–2026. Fees change and can vary by state: confirm them in the fee schedule of the account you choose.